Duruflé Requiem

Eton College Chapel Choir directed by Tim Johnson.
Organists - David Goode, Tom Etheridge & Richard Gowers.

1.  Introit
2.  Kyrie
3.  Domine Jesu Christe
4.  Sanctus
5.  Pie Jesu
6.  Agnus Dei
7.  Lux aeterna
8.  Libera me
9.  In Paradisum
10. Scherzo op. 2
11. Prélude
12. Adagio
13. Choral varié

For more details about this recording and for an order form, please click here


Christ, the Dawn!

'Christ, the Dawn!' was written in late 2010, by composer Tom Recknell using words by Eton College Master, James O'Brien. The text, intended for the feast of Ascension Day encapsulates the image of Christ's final ascension through " and light". The music starts by echoing the dawn, before "we" stumble awake. By the end of the piece, the choir repeats "There is no other prayer but this", reticently at first as a solo treble (Jack Eastwood) encourages us with his "Thank Him". The music rises, crescendos, as the dawn, as Christ, is carried to the heavens.

This recording was made on 27 May 2011, by the Eton College Chapel Choir who gave the first performance of this piece during their morning service. The choir was directed by the precentor, Ralph Allwood.


Langlais - Messe Solennelle

French sacred music for Choir and Organ - Eton College Chapel Choir directed by Ralph Allwood, organist David Goode.

1-5      Messe Solennelle - Jean Langlais
6         Tantum Ergo - Déodat de Severac
7         O Salutaris Hostia Op.21 - Pierre Villette
8         O Quam Amabilis Es Op.71 - Pierre Villette
9         O Sacrum Convivium - Olivier Messiaen
10       Institution de l'Eucharist (Livre du Saint Sacrement) - Olivier Messiaen
11       Ave Verum Op.34, No. 1 - Marcel Dupré
12       Jesu, Dulcis Memoria Op.80 - Peirre Villette
13       Panis Angelicus Op.80 - Pierre Villette
14       Salve Regina - Francis Poulenc
15       Regina Coeli, No. 1 from 3 Motets - Jean Roger-Ducasse
16       Pastorale - Jean Roger-Ducasse

For further details on the following recordings, please click here.

Hear My Words (2008)

Music from Eton (1990: re-issued 1997 & 2006)

Three Pieces from the Eton Choirbook (1994)

I Will Lift Up Mine Eyes (1996: re-issued 2006)

The Organs of Eton — Vols I and II (1997)

Choral Evensong from Eton College (1997)

Christmas Music from Eton College (2000)

Musica Etonensis (2004)

Eton Close Up (2006)

A Celebration of Christmas (1994, re-issued 2005)


All recordings can be obtained from:

Music Schools Administrator,
Music Schools
Eton College

Telephone:  01753 370 455   
They will advise prices. Cheques should be made payable to:
(boys’ orders can be put on the school bill).