Skip Navigation LinksHOME/School Life/Curriculum/Academic Curriculum

The Academic Structure

Eton is divided into five year-groups called blocks, from F (Year 9) to B (Year 13).

There are 35 formal schools (lessons) a week and almost all boys have some reading schools (free periods). Boys are taught in divisions (sets, classes or forms) normally containing about ten or twelve boys of broadly similar ability in the case of specialists (C and B blocks, the sixth-form) and about twenty in the case of non-specialists (F, E and D blocks, the first three years).

The Eton Block Structure

Block Name  
F A foundation programme with a choice of two modern foreign languages and whether to take up or continue with classical Greek. Read more about F Block.
E The first GCSE year during which a boy studies in 10 subject-groups, working towards 11 GCSEs (English producing two GCSEs). Read more about E Block
D The second GCSE year when a boy may if he wishes reduce his studies to 9 subject-groups, subject to certain constraints. Read more about D Block.
C The first year of specialist (sixth-form) study where most boys study 4 A-Level or Pre-U subjects. Read more about C Block.
B The A-Level year when most boys apply to university and take their final A-Levels or Pre-Us. Read more about B Block.

Division masters set regular out of school work called Extra Works or EW (i.e. prep/homework) and boys are encouraged to plan their free time effectively to ensure it is completed. Division masters keep house masters and tutors informed of boys’ progress. Trials (internal examinations) take place at the end of the Michaelmas and Summer halves; boys are examined in all their main subjects unless they are taking external exams.  

There is a dedicated Learning Support team for boys with specific educational needs. All boys are assessed when they first arrive and, where appropriate, given extra help. A boy can be referred to Learning Support at any point during his time at Eton by their house master.